Situated at the foot of the Rossberg in a valley between the Thur and Doller rivers, it was in the archives of the Abbey of Masevaux in 1439 that the first mention was made of a major ironworks at Buchberg.
The "Trolls", a mining archaeology and speleology group, mapped over 120 workings, galleries and shafts, and discovered 14 mines with a total of 1 km of galleries.