Grussenheim is a village on the northern border of the Haut-Rhin department, some fifteen kilometers from Colmar.
Traces of human occupation date back to prehistoric times. In Roman times, a small settlement was established along the Heidenstraessel Roman road, and to the west of the village was a large villa where the remains of a mosaic were discovered. The village was first mentioned in 737. From 770, Ebersmunster Abbey owned property in the village. From 1361 to the French Revolution of 1789, the Rathsamhausen family administered the village. The village grew thanks to its rich agriculture. A fair was held as early as 1605. Around 1850, a pottery tradition gave rise to an annual market every May 1: the Hafalamarik (pot market). At the beginning of the 20th century, over a third of the population was Jewish. But in June 1940, the Germans occupied the commune, triggering an exodus of the Jewish community. The fighting in the Colmar pocket took its toll on the village, which was liberated on January 29, 1945.
Monuments : St Croix church (18th c.) curved facade unique in Alsace, Baroque altarpiece, presbytery (18th c.), timber-framed houses, Lieutenant Arnaud bridge, "Chemin des Dames" tank (1945), Jewish cemetery, Lourdes grotto, presbytery (1747), rural crosses